Advancing paediatric surgery through education and research

RCS International Travel Grants

The RCS invites applications for its newly launched 2016 international travel grants.
We will award a total of 10 grants up to £2,000 each to UK-based and overseas surgeons who wish to initiate or deepen institutional collaboration in surgery in specific resource-poor countries*

International Travel Grants

The RCS invites applications from UK-based surgeons wishing to visit colleagues in healthcare institutions in selected developing countries* on a short-term basis.

The RCS particularly encourages applications that explore the possibility for a future developmental or capacity-building project which leads to sustainable improvements in surgical care in the relevant country.

Applicants must be RCS Members or Fellows, in good standing.

Visiting Fellow Travel Grants

The RCS invites applications from surgeons normally resident in selected developing countries* to visit a UK healthcare institution on a short-term basis.

These grants are intended to support surgeons who wish to develop a skill, acquire specialist knowledge or explore institutional collaboration in surgery. Visits may include, but are not limited to, mentorships, job- shadowing, observerships, clinical attachments and other forms of personal development.

Applicants must demonstrate that the experience in the UK relates directly to their home country’s surgical needs and/or an opportunity to obtain relevant surgical knowledge, or contribute knowledge of surgical needs or practices in their own country. Applicants must have already identified and agreed their visit with a UK institution and an appropriate letter of invitation must be included with the application.

Visit the RCS International website for further information and application

Closing date for applications – Friday 12 August 2016, 5pm

* Department For International Development (DFID) priority countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Nigeria, Occupied Palestinian Territories, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe